My Journey into Journalism: An Important Announcement and Reminder

The Gamer Syndrome website logo

The Gamer Syndrome website logo

Hello again :).  I am delighted to tell you that I am now an author for the gaming news website, Gamer Syndrome.  Some of you, particularly viewers of my Twitch channel, are already aware of this and I truly thank you for your support and invite you to continue to read and spread the word about the articles that I have written and will write.  Though this is still very new to me, actively seeking out news and attempting to deliver it to viewers of the Gamer Syndrome site has been an exciting and fulfilling challenge.  To be honest, I didn’t expect to be involved in journalism.  Studying biology in college and graduate school, journalism wasn’t even on my radar.  But, as a gamer, how could I not get excited about learning some interesting tidbits and rumors about aspects of the gaming industry?  So far, my effort to write for Gamer Syndrome has awakened a bit of a competitive spirit in me.  It provides a bit of an adrenaline rush to try to be one of the first authors to write about some new gaming phenomenon.

Thus, I’ll end by saying that I hope that you guys check out Gamer Syndrome if you haven’t already.  Here is a link to the site: www.gamersyndrome.com

6 thoughts on “My Journey into Journalism: An Important Announcement and Reminder

  1. “Reporting live now is Julie at the scene =P!” Seriously, I think it so awesome that you have fallen in love with being a video game journalist and blogger. Even though you are new to this, I think you really have a knack for this and have found one your callings in life =). It seems to come natural to you and your writing is a pleasure to read! I would say I can feel your passion and enthusiasm jump off the page at me =)! Sometimes life leads you to great places that you don’t expect. I am so proud of you, what you are accomplishing now, and what you are going to accomplish in the future =). I know you will continue to write great articles and entries =).

    Remember to keep honing your speedrunning video game journalism skills to be the first one on the story =P.

  2. It seems we are on the same boat — I was pre-veterinary medicine. However, I then switched to English when I realized how much I loved writing. I went into Grad school studying writing and communications (I’m in my first year now) and thought I was going to teach. However, I began to do research on video games for my program and that turned into an opportunity writing for different online outlets. I do want to teach one day, but for now I want to see where this choice takes me.

    It’s obvious you have a gift for writing. Congrats and I look forward to reading your stuff. We need more girls out there in the industry.

    • Thanks so much for the kind words. I agree that there definitely need to be more girls in the industry and I am also looking forward to reading what you write.

  3. This is probably a tad bit late, but I came across your blog just the other day!

    I agree with what everyone else has said. I really enjoy reading your articles and I think you express yourself so well. It’s definitely obvious that you’re talented as a writer 🙂

    I hope that it stays a passion of yours, and I look forward to reading your future work!

Leave a comment